Straight Outta Compton prescreening at Regal Theater 18 on South Beach 7/23/15

image

Remember the excitement you felt when you purchased your first copy of NWA’s “Straight Outta Compton” and Easy E’s “Easy Duz It” cd’s? Well that nostalgic feeling came back to me yesterday as I stood in line waiting to be seated at the prescreening of the movie “Straight Outta Compton!” The wait was well worth it. At 8pm on the dot the theater went dark and the movie geared up. The looks on everyone’s face was like that of a child unwrapping a Christmas present. The movie dropped us right in the middle of Ice Cube, Dr. Dre, Easy E, MC Ren and DJ Yella’s world and I was so happy to be there! The casting was superb…we knew who every character represented even if we’d never seen them beforehand! I found myself saying “that’s Snoop, that’s DOC, that’s Tupac” and we all said “that’s Suge Knight!” What captivated me the most was the level of intelligence each character possessed, they were more than your “street thug turned rapper” group of young men. They were from a not so glamorous world but were hungry for success…and it helped that they are extremely talented, I would even coin them musical prodigies! I will not give out any details of the movie other than to say, it’s a must see! I am so happy that the story of NWA was told during my lifetime…it was a well received treat! During the after screening panel discussion Ice Cube asked the crowd to tweet, Facebook, Instagram, blog and spread the word about the movie via our social media outlets. The movie will be released nationwide on August 14th, do yourself a big favor this summer and go see it!

๐Ÿ’๐Ÿพ Just my perspective on things…enjoy!

Leave a Reply

